Skip to content

Hillary Comes to My Hometown

May 19, 2008

“I believe this is the most beautiful day I have seen in a long, long time,” I repeated for about the fifteenth time and my dear daughter-in-law just grinned. Of course our exciting afternoon adventure surely had something to do with our location and point of view.Hillary in Mayfield, Kentucky

Senator Hillary Rodham Clinton visited Mayfield, KY, for a Get out the Vote rally on Sunday afternoon, May 18, and C and I had media credentials as local bloggers and photographers on flickr. Of couse, C had already had her first taste covering the local campaign on Friday when former President Bill Clinton came to Paducah. Where was I then? Why keeping the grandbaby, of course!

So what did I gather from the afternoon? Hillary was absolutely beautiful in person. Television and photographs do not begin to do her justice. Her passion was evident and her charisma shone as she shared her hopes and plans with our small West Kentucky community.

The crowd’s favorite analogy was to a car on track. “If you want to go forward, you put it in D. If you want to go backward, you put it in R,” she quipped in reference to Democrats and Republicans. She advised the gathering, “Think about this as a hiring decision,” and it was evident that many of those in attendance were thrilled to see their possible first woman president.

I stood near both William Sledd, sporting a new colorful ‘do, and my high school prom date, now with a local radio station. Chatted with local news crews and rubbed elbows with CNN. And maybe, came a bit closer to making my decision for Tuesday’s Kentucky Primary… just maybe.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. lpbw permalink
    May 19, 2008 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the plugs! Very well written, just like I was there ;)

Trackbacks

  1. BallotVox » Blog Archive » Kentucky Democratic Primary

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

