Skip to content

Sing a Song

October 22, 2006

Vanesa introduced herself today after my attempt to translate her blog with comments in a flickr post I made.

Hi Vanesa!  I promised I would read more on Deakialli DocuMental and was so intrigued by La frase de la semana:

“Bloguers we are like dj’s of the information” (translated)

“Los bloguers somos como los los dj´s de la información”

from José Luis Orihuelaen el Workshop Introducción ala Web 2.0

Now I shall date myself, but my first thought was of Sing a Song.  According to Brooke’s Sing a Song Page, “It was first performed by The Carpenters for an episode of Sesame Street,
then released as a single in 1973.”  I remember it well and I was not a child at the time!

Imagine that, a former preschool director and once-upon-a-time storyteller, relating to what was first a children’s song!

But before I got too sweet and syrupy, my mind turned to Orihuela’s quote.  DJs spin.  We blog.  Sometimes the whole night long.  So with apologies to writer and composer Joe Raposo, here goes:

Spin, spin a blog
Spin out loud
Spin out strong
Spin of good things not bad
Spin of happy not sad.

Spin, spin a blog
Make it simple to last
Your whole life long
Don’t worry that it’s not
Good enough for anyone
Else to hear
Just spin, spin a blog.

I know there are different definitions for the word spin and my hope is to be as the DJ and not the politician.  I am fearful that something may be lost in translation between Paducah and Madrid.  But I am very glad, after spending some time tonight trying my best at translating, to have enjoyed some time learning from a new faraway librarian friend. 

¡Respeto y recuerdos!

Regards and best wishes!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 18, 2006 10:56 am

    I forgot to tell you that we posted your song last week!

    http://www.deakialli.com/2006/11/12/la-frase-de-la-semana-3/

    regards

Leave a Reply

