Skip to content

But Who’s Counting?

July 29, 2006

One month, a baker’s dozen posts and 1400+ hits on my stat counter later, I have so much yet to learn.  But I have figured out that del.icio.us is so much more than yummy!

Library Stuff blog, by Steven M. Cohen, published by Information Today, Inc. will celebrate 6 years of blogging on August 4.  I wonder if he watched his traffic in the first month as much as I did?  Does he still?

How else, except for checking those referrers, top posts, and search engine terms, will I know if what I am writing is reaching anybody?  Oh sure, comments would help, I guess.

Lorelle on WordPress just posted What Do I Do With My New WordPress.com Blog.  Maybe I should have waited a month so I could have read this.

But I didn’t.  I wanted to share ideas about libraries.  I wanted to be able to share links to all kinds of neat books, new technologies, and interesting programs that librarians all across the nation were reading, developing, or presenting.  And I was very frustrated with forwarding emails.  Did staff ever really read what I sent them?  Could administration take the time from their busy days to follow those links?  Were other libraries interested in successful projects I had read about or initiated?

Intentionally, I have tried sharing very random things.  Reviews, photos on flickr, and YouTube videos; personal impressions of library events, contributing links to current events, and tips for using electronic databases; and some sweet successes.

What do people want to read about?  Can I blog anything worthwhile to enhance my profession?  Will DOPA deflate my plans to create an official Youth Services blog for mclib.net?

So much to learn, so much to plan, but thanks to Lorelle, Meredith, and Michael, I have lots of talented leaders.

And to the rest of you library bloggers out there, keep it up!  I am reading you, learning from you, listening to you.  Your influence is appreciated!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2006 6:59 am

    Thanks for the note.

    I used to check my stats but haven’t in a while. I have feeds which notify me when a blogger links to me, (that’s how I found yours), but that’s about it.

    I guess the question is, who do you blog for? and why? That’s a question I have yet to answer for myself. I want to say that I blog for me, but that wouldn’t be 100% correct. Maybe it’s a 50/50 split.

  2. July 29, 2006 11:24 am

    Always glad to help. You’re doing a great job, and you are learning a lot, even about stuff you thought you already knew. That’s part of the secret fun of blogging.

    Keep on keeping on!

Leave a Reply

