Skip to content

Review – Breaking Dawn by Stephenie Meyer

August 14, 2008

Please allow me to repeat myself:

I want to know the answers to questions about ancient legends and mythical monsters, impossible fairytales and absolute truths, magic and ghost stories.

I cannot wait for Bella to help me figure those out.

And most fantastically did Breaking Dawn deliver exactly all of that…!!

The above quote is from New Moon and was used in my review of Stephenie Meyer’s second book in the Twilight Saga. So, let’s see… did I get my answers… did I figure it out… with Bella’s help…??

Did we find answers to questions about:

Ancient Legends ? CHECK

Mythical Monsters ? CHECK

Impossible Fairytales ? CHECK

Absolute Truths ? CHECK

Magic ? CHECK

Ghost Stories ? CHECK

Well, I was so satisfied with all those answers. But also, in that review, I wondered:

With love this strong, how do you live with difficult choices? What kinds of love are the most sustaining? Can you really go home again?

Breaking Dawn helped me realize those answers as well. You sometimes get lucky with difficult choices if you are determined to make those multiples of those choices work. Sustaining love comes in so many different forms and yes… you can go (or stay at) home again.

And finally, after reading New Moon, I had noted that I loved the contrasts of hot versus cold, dark versus light, and puberty versus maturity. How abundantly all those contrasts were continued in Breaking Dawn!

Thank you Stephenie Meyer for the most happily completed book series that I have ever read. After Twilight, New Moon and Eclipse you left me desperately wanting more. I spent so much time trying to figure out what might happen next and I was so seriously wrong with my predictions.

But with the conclusion of Breaking Dawn you truly happily-ever-aftered Bella, Edward and Jacob for me and that, my dear author, left me totally satisfied and so very very happy.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2008 7:43 pm

    You know, I’d never heard of this series before you mentioned it. But now I may have to check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.

  2. Barbara permalink
    August 28, 2008 8:44 pm

    I love the series and Breaking Dawn was just the ending I would have written, if I could write.

    I am so happy no one died. I love Jacob and I wanted him to be happy.

    Stephenie, I want you to know that this Grandmother appreciates how well you did.

  3. Lisa permalink
    August 28, 2008 11:32 pm

    I love to hear some positive comments. Because I adored these books. I have heard of people absolutely hating the final book. But I crazed over each one. My boyfriend thought I was crazy!

  4. zoya permalink
    October 8, 2008 12:57 pm

    Thank you for posting such an amazing review that answered all of MY questions. I have only read up to New Moon and though it may no be alot I am starting on Eclipse and have been reading reviews for both. Eclipse got very bad news (if anyone has read it please tell me what you think) and then breaking dawn was sai to be boring or so and that annoyed me because Twilight and New Moon were noth amazing and I read the plot for Breaking Dawn and it sounded good but it got bad reviews.How so?Anyway I was shocked to find that some people preferred Jacob to Edward,but why?Edward and Bella belong together.And in Eclipse Edward and Bella’s love is tested,that made me very very mad that she even had to consider Jacob when the answer(Edward) was always Edward (duh!)it just made me mad that she even doubted Edward’s love. I hope I am not disappointed with Eclipse and Breaking Dawn because the first two are amazing!

  5. sandrar permalink
    September 10, 2009 8:11 am

    Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

